Skip to main content

Young Set Theory Workshop

06/17/2024 - 06/21/2024
Erdős Center



This yearly international workshop brings together young mathematicians, providing in depth introductions to various topics in set theory, leading to questions at the forefront of research. Tutorials and talks will be given by both experienced researchers and postdocs, and will be primarily aimed at advanced PhD students and early career researchers.

In case of questions please contact



Budapest, Múzeum krt. 4/g, (Gólyavár, Eötvös Loránd University)
Pázmány Lecture Hall.

How to get there from the accommodations


How to get around Budapest

Where to eat or have a drink

Excursions on Wednesday

Further Practical Information


Preliminary schedule

9:30-10:20Boban VeličkovićJohn SteelBoban VeličkovićAnush TserunyanJindřich Zapletal
10:20-10:50Coffee breakCoffee breakCoffee breakCoffee breakCoffee break
10:50-11:40Menachem MagidorBoban VeličkovićAnush TserunyanJindřich ZapletalAnush Tserunyan
11:40-12:00Short breakShort breakShort breakShort breakShort break
12:00-12:50Andreas LietzMárk PoórMenachem MagidorJonathan SchilhanMatt Bowen
12:50-14:30Lunch breakLunch breakLunch breakLunch breakLunch break
15:00-15:50Jindřich ZapletalMenachem MagidorJohn SteelDiscussion
15:50-16:20Coffee breakCoffee breakCoffee break 
16:20-17:10John SteelTom BenhamouPoster Session 
17:10-17:20Short breakShort break 
18:20-   Wine-and-Cheese Event 



Jan Grebik, University of Warwick
Alexander Kechris, California Institute of Technology
Oleg Pikhurko, University of Warwick
Stevo Todorcevic, University of Toronto
Zoltán Vidnyánszky, ELTE, Budapest

Local Organizers

Balázs Bursics
Tamás Kátay
Anett Kocsis
Máté Pálfy


Invited Speakers

Tutorial Speakers
Menachem Magidor (Hebrew University)
John Steel (UC Berkeley)
Anush Tserunyan (McGill University)
Boban Veličković (Paris Diderot University)
Jindřich Zapletal (University of Florida)

Invited Speakers
Tom Benhamou (UI Chicago)
Matt Bowen (Oxford)
Andreas Lietz (University of Münster)
Márk Poór (Cornell University)
Jonathan Schilhan (University of Leeds)

Program Committee
David Aspero
Natasha Dobrinen
Martin Goldstern
István Juhász
Dima Sinapova